Feed the Machine

For a good cause…

Denver Daily Photo

If you look closely, you will notice this is not an ordinary parking meter. I remember when I first moved to Denver, I kept thinking “why are there meters in the middle of the sidewalk?” Of course, I never really took the time to figure it out. Until today, that is. I got close enough to realize the top of the meter said Denver’s Road Home. This immediately caught my attention.

These meters are used to raise money to support the homeless who live in Denver. If you read the bottom, it says “Denver has an ambitious plan to end homelessness.” I am not sure if these meters actually work since I have never seen them say anything but 0.00. Perhaps next week I will throw in some change just to see. Interesting way to raise money, huh? I think it is pretty creative but I just wonder how productive it has been.

Leave a Reply

